Overseas Countries
and Territories Association


177 projects taking place in the OCTs / 68 organisations


Erasmus+ is the EU Programme in the fields of education, training, youth and sport for the period 2021-2027. It places a strong focus on social inclusion, the green and digital transitions, and promoting young people’s participation in democratic life.

Eligibility of OCTs

Persons and entities established in OCTs are eligible for funding like any other EU Member State. OCTs access Erasmus+ as Programme countries.

Key facts of the programme

Erasmus+ is implemented through three Key Actions:


Key Action 1:

  • Mobility projects for learners and staff in higher education, vocational education and training (VET), school education, adult education and youth
  • Youth Participation Activities

Key Action 2:

  • Partnerships for Cooperation, comprising
    • Cooperation Partnerships
    • Small-scale Partnerships
  • Partnerships for Excellence, including:
    • Centres for Vocational Excellence
    • Erasmus+ Teacher Academies
    • Erasmus Mundus Action
  • Partnerships for Innovation–Alliances for innovation
  • Capacity Building in the field of youth
  • Not-for-profit European sport events

Key Action 3:

  • European Youth Together

Jean Monnet Action:

  • Jean Monnet in the field of higher education
  • Jean Monnet in other fields of education and training

In addition, some actions of the Programme are implemented through specific calls for proposals managed directly by the European Commission or by its Executive Agency. We will publish this information in our website when they appear.

Relevance of programme for OCTs

Erasmus+ is the most popular programme among the OCTs, with 68 organisations involved in 177 projects. There is a large ownership of the programme within the territories with 53% of the projects being coordinated by local partners.

How is the programme managed ?

The programme is mostly implemented by the National Education Agencies and by the European Commission’s European Education and Culture Executive Agency (EACEA) for certain actions.