OCTA

Overseas Countries
and Territories Association

PROTEGE-enters-its-operational-phase-The-Pacific-Community

Projet Régional des Territoires du Pacifique pour la Gestion Durable des écosystèmes (PROTEGE)

01/07/2018 - 31/12/2023

36 millions

Le projet régional océanien des territoires pour la gestion durable des écosystèmes (PROTEGE) est une initiative qui vise à promouvoir le développement économique durable et la résilience face au changement climatique au sein des pays et territoires d’outre-mer européens du Pacifique (PTOM), en s’appuyant sur la biodiversité et les ressources naturelles renouvelables. PROTEGE a deux objectifs principaux :

  • renforcer la durabilité, l’adaptation au changement climatique et l’autonomie des secteurs primaires clés;
  • et renforcer la sécurité des services écosystémiques en protégeant les ressources en eau et la biodiversité.

 

PROTEGE accompagne les politiques publiques des quatre PTOM du Pacifique : Nouvelle-Calédonie, Polynésie française, Wallis et Futuna et les îles Pitcairn. Le projet est mis en œuvre par la Communauté du Pacifique (SPC – Environmental Sustainability and Climate Change Program) et le Pacific Regional Environment Programme (SPREP).

Le projet s’étend de 2018 à 2022 et il couvre quatre thèmes, à savoir :

  1. Agriculture et foresterie,
  2. Pêche côtière et aquaculture,
  3. L’eau et
  4. Les espèces envahissantes.

Le projet est financé par l’Union européenne. Son pilotage est assuré par la Nouvelle-Calédonie en tant qu’ordonnateur régional du projet, ainsi que par les ordonnateurs territoriaux du Fonds européen de développement (FED) pour la Polynésie française, Wallis & Futuna et Pitcairn.

Veuillez trouver ici l’article d’actualité de la 7e newsletter du projet PROTEGE, qui met en lumière les actions en cours.

PROTEGE-enters-its-operational-phase-The-Pacific-Community

Pacific Territories Regional Project for Sustainable (PROTEGE) Ecosystem Management

01/07/2018 - 31/12/2023

36 million

French Polynesia

New-Caledonia

Wallis and Futuna

The Oceanian Regional Project of Territories for the Sustainable Management of Ecosystems (PROTEGE) is an initiative which aims to promote sustainable economic development and resilience in the face of climate change within the European Overseas Countries and Territories of the Pacific (OCTs), by relying on biodiversity and renewable natural resources. PROTEGE has two main objectives:

  • strengthening key primary sectors’ sustainability, climate-change adaptation and autonomy;
  • and enhancing ecosystem-service security by protecting water resources and biodiversity.

Contact

95 Promenade Roger Laroque BP D5
98848 Noumea
New Caledonia

PROTEGE supports the public policies of the four Pacific OCTs: New Caledonia, French Polynesia, Wallis and Futuna and the Pitcairn Islands. The project is implemented by the Pacific Community (SPC – Environmental Sustainability and Climate Change Program) and the Pacific Regional Environment Program (SPREP).

The project runs from 2018 to 2022 and it covers four themes, namely:

  1. Agriculture and Forestry,
  2. Coastal Fisheries and Aquaculture,
  3. Water, and
  4. Invasive Species.

The project is funded by the European Union. Its oversight is ensured by New Caledonia as the project’s Regional Authorising Officer, along with the European Development Fund (EDF) territorial authorising officers for French Polynesia, Wallis & Futuna and Pitcairn.

Please find here the news article on the 7th newsletter of the PROTEGE project, which highlights the actions that are taking place.