Overseas Countries
and Territories Association

MC 2018

OCTA Ministerial Conference 2018

The Representatives of the Overseas Countries and Territories met in Brussels, Belgium, on 22nd February 2018 on the occasion of the 2017 OCTA Ministerial Conference. It was led by Mrs. Cartwright Robinson, Premier of the Turks and Caicos Island, as current Chair of the association.

They discussed the OCT-EU partnership post 2020. They also reviewed ongoing programmes such as the Territorial Strategies for Innovation (TSI) programme and 11th EDF Thematic and Regional activities, the OCTA secretariat and institutional strengthening.

The Conference approves the reports and budgets submitted by the Executive Committee, sets the policies for the coming years, and elects the next Chair and members of the Executive Committee.
The main outcomes of the Conference is the Political Declaration which is presented to the EU institutions and other partners at the OCT-EU Forum. The Declaration is signed by all the Heads of delegation.

During the Ministerial Conference, Mr Edouard Fritch, President of French Polynesia, was elected as OCTA Chair until the next Conference to be held in French Polynesia in 2019.

The closing remarks were delivered by Mr Teva ROHFRITSCH, Vice President of French Polynesia.