Overseas Countries
and Territories Association

Add a heading (2)

Consultative vote results on the association of the OCTs with the EU, including relations between EU, Greenland and the Kingdom of Denmark

Aruba, Bonaire, Curaçao, French Polynesia, French Southern and Antarctic Lands (TAAF), Greenland, New Caledonia, Saba, Saint-Barthelemy, Saint-Pierre-and-Miquelon, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten, Wallis and Futuna

The European Parliament held a consultative voting session on the new Overseas Association Decision this past Monday 13 September during the plenary session in Strasbourg. The Overseas Association Decision was approved by 603 to 27 votes and 57 abstentions during the voting session. Now the proposition will be taken to the Council who will make the final decision.

The partnership between the EU and the OCTs is based on three key pillars: (1) enhancing competitiveness, (2) strengthening resilience and reducing vulnerability, and (3) promoting cooperation and integration between the OCTs and other partners and neighboring regions. The general objective of the Overseas Association Decision, including Greenland, is to promote the economic and social development of the OCTs and to establish close economic relations between them and the Union as a whole