Overseas Countries
and Territories Association

EU woman innovators prize EN 1

Open call: EU Prize for Women Innovators

Applications to the ninth edition of the EU Prize for Women Innovators are now open. This prize is awarded by the European Commission to honour women entrepreneurs who have made significant innovations in Europe. The deadline for applications is 18 August 2022.

The prize is awarded to the most talented women entrepreneurs from across the EU and countries associated to Horizon Europe – including from the OCTs – who have founded a successful company and brought innovation to the market. The prize is managed by the European Innovation Council and SMEs Executive Agency, and the winners are chosen by an independent expert jury.


This award has two categories:

Women Innovators category: three prizes of EUR 100 000 each awarded to the most talented women innovators from across the EU (including OCTs) and Associated Countries.

Rising Innovators category:  three prizes of EUR 50 000 each awarded to the most promising young innovators aged 35 or under.


What are the award criteria?

Eligible applications will be evaluated against 3 award criteria:

  1. Breakthrough innovation – the company founded or co-founded by the applicant provides a truly innovative product or service in the EU market.
  1. Impact – the product or service addresses a specific societal need or challenge, with significant benefits for people and/or planet.
  1. Inspiration – the applicant has played a pivotal role in the success of the company, and a role model for other women and girls.


For more details: EU Prize for Women Innovators – EIC website